I read an article on Facebook about how moms get the worst of their kids’ behavior because the kid views mom as a “safe place” where they can have an emotional breakdown and just let it all out. It’s believable. Mom fixes all things, and if she can’t “fix” it necessarily, she still loves you after you throw an Armageddon-sized tantrum. I, as ‘not the mama’, will not.

The mom tells me today that the 4 year old has increased the number of times he reacts aggressively. Repeatedly striking her when she won’t give him what he wants, and goes on to say “he was so tired”. I don’t care how tired you are, you do not hit people to get your way. He’s only thrown a toy at me one time and hit me in the neck with it when I wasn’t paying attention to him. He learned how serious I could be that day. I have quite the scary “mom-voice” when I get stern. It comes from dealing with stallions and other large, stubborn animals growing up. He hasn’t hit me again, yet. I didn’t bother with the “it hurts my feelings when you hit me” thing that they do. Appealing to his emotional side is apparently not working for them. I simply said “Don’t you EVER do that again. You hear me? Don’t EVER.” And he hasn’t done it since. But I am also not the mother. I am not his “safe” place. Maybe my stern mom-voice has nothing to do with it.

The baby is a dream as long as she’s not constipated. Shit, I can identify that. I’m not really all that fun when I am constipated either. We’ve discovered that the Iron fortified rice cereal was the issue. Mom tells me she’s been sleeping through the night for 2 weeks now. We have found the winning combo. Baby food with no cereal mixed in at noon-ish and 4:30pm and a bottle the rest of the time she gets hungry seems to work. I’ve learned she likes to play with her food. Blowing bubbles on the spoon so the food sprays everywhere. Have you ever cleaned carrots out of a baby’s nose? It’s quite amusing. I have to wait til she’s smiling big enough/ screeching like a pterodactyl to get the spoon far enough in her mouth so the food is toward the back half of her tongue. Then she can’t spray it at me. She always looks like I tricked her when I do that. It’s pretty hilarious.

I must say this has been the most fulfilling job I’ve ever had. Every day is different. There isn’t any monotony, and I enjoy coming to work every day. I will be so sad when this job ends in August. I’ll miss these kids. As stubborn and bossy as the 4 yr old can be, he is also the sweetest little boy sometimes. Who am I to talk about bossy anyway? There’s a video out there of me at age 6 ordering my sisters and little cousin around while playing with a tea set I had gotten for Christmas. It comes with being the oldest child.

I also know how lucky I am to have met this family through one of my best friends. The mom offered to pay for my wedding hair and makeup as a wedding gift this morning. I almost cried. A couple weeks ago, they surprised me with cupcakes and a card for my birthday. I’m afraid if I do nanny for another family, that they will be like the horror stories you hear: treating nannies like servants instead of part of the family. I know I shouldn’t even worry about it now, but that’s what I do. I play “what if”, constantly.

I am doing well with my goal of exercising while the baby is napping. The mother gave me permission to use her Jillian Michaels 30 day shred and weights to work out. Try doing the stairs after 20 mins with Jillian. She kicks your ass! I need to move to the Level 2-40 min workout, but I don’t think I’m ready yet. I’ll give it an entire week before I try it on for size. I have to be ready for that pain and I’m just not. Carrying a 15lb baby up un-carpeted stairs requires my legs to NOT give out.

Leave a Reply

