On the church of Scientology down the street from my apartment, there’s this banner that says “give yourself the knowledge of YOU”.  Reading it, it kinda scared me for a second because with all the selfies and “this is so me” memes.. I realized we are a generation of Tom Cruises. I officially banned myself from taking any sort of “selfies” two years ago and never looked back. But this isn’t about me.

Everyone is so focused on knowing themselves.. Even rappers only talk about themselves in songs anymore. I can’t even listen to the rap station in my city anymore. I’m so tired of hearing about “bitches” and how many cars a guy has or how much a guy makes and I’m like “what about me? I can speak in a full sentence and not make up words sounding like gibberish and I don’t have “bitches and bentleys”!
Didn’t rappers use to rap about social injustice or inequality or issues??? I swear they did. I need people like that to come back. Common, Mos Def…they rapped about real things. Kendrick kiiiinda does. If you read between some of his lines. But big Sean and Tyga and lil Wayne need to fall off the planet. And Drake. He can go too. There’s that mission to Mars… Instead of moms leaving their kids, just send “Young Money”.

Speaking of the entire concept of money…while we do have to accept it.. It’s bullshit. With the right ink and paper and government clearance, you can PRINT bills. We are trillions of dollars in debt and people are starving and kids are sold into sex trafficking rings because of a piece of PAPER assigned a number value. It almost makes me not want to have kids at all.

I’m currently stuck in baby fever and arguing with myself about it. Like do I really want to subject my progeny to the horrors of this self obsessed society… To watch them be shaped into selfish people I can’t bear to watch, but must love anyway because I TRIED to teach them the right ways to do things? I just don’t know. And it really is a delusional thought that you yourself as a parent can entirely SHAPE another human being into being better than the general population. There are too many outside variables. Unless you do the whole homeschool, hermit thing which presents a whole other set of issues. Then you run the risk of your kids become serial killers or cult leaders. No thanks.

But then if you don’t TRY to help further society with your kids who hopefully will turn out intelligent and enlightened like yourself, aren’t you being selfish? Then it comes full circle back to yourself not being a productive member of society. You’re just selfish like everyone else. Just another Tom Cruise.

Society will implode. Elephants or cats will evolve and rule in our place, I swear.

<end rant>

Leave a Reply

