Saving money for a down payment on a house…and then I’m daydreaming like “fuck a house, how about a European vacation!” Goals are hard. I’m doing all the things I’m supposed to do according to society, but sometimes I get to wondering what it would be like to just say fuck that and be a gypsy. Why do I have to have a secure safe life in order for people to approve of my existence in this world? I’m just saying, society kind of sucks. One collective thought on how everyone else should live just pushing at you and pushing at you. Why is someone not allowed to choose their own happiness? As long as they aren’t placing anyone else in danger, why can’t society be happy for someone who has achieved their own definition of happiness? Just recognize it, say good for them, and let it go. Instead of always saying “they should be…”

THEY shouldn’t be ANYTHING…you should be doing something else, because obviously your ass is so unhappy with your life that you need to look at someone else’s. I mean, sure, they probably shouldn’t be doing heroin, or meth, or crack…but otherwise, let them be. Maybe if THEY said they were miserable, offer advice, but if they didn’t, just wish them well.

 “Good will toward men”.

Ever heard of it?

I’ll admit, I’ve been judgmental at times. I’ve totally been the person to say “they should…”, but lately I’m just seeing that I can say that all day and it won’t matter. It is honestly futile to press your views on someone who will do what they want anyway. Even if they ask, they aren’t asking for real advice, they’re hoping you’re going to say something that they want to hear. They want validation of their reasoning for what they are about to do that they know might not be the best course of action. I no longer give advice for this reason.  I don’t practice futility. I think they most common thing out of my mouth now is “I’m going to hold my opinion and you do you, honey, because you aren’t going to listen to me anyway.”

 

Just be happy. However you achieve happiness, just attain it, and hold on to it. I’m not saying don’t be secure and safe..because even with my daydreaming, I would rather be financially secure and playing it safe. Some don’t need that though. And there is nothing wrong with making money and turning around and spending every penny on whatever you want. You can’t take it with you when you die. 

5 thoughts on “Definition of Happiness is Subjective

      1. Ok, now, See?!! I feel bad because I was just bustin’ you, since I read you were trying to cut out bread, pasta, potatoes. So don’t let me derail your good intentions.

        Nor do I typicaly use a term of endearment the first time I meet someone . . . I’va just been reading you.😌

        Have a great afternoon!

      2. I knew what you were trying to do.. And yeah that day I was trying. I tend to get over it the next day and go on my merry way with the bread and the pastas and potatoes. My blog is just me ranting, I swear.

Leave a Reply

